Filling and Tasty!

…usually, I feel tired after lunch. That old ham, turkey and cheese would sit heavy in my stomach and if I wasn’t falling asleep at my desk, I was wanting to go move my bowels. Today, I’m sitting at attention and ready to for the rest of my day! I feel fantastic!

As you may have learned from my previous blog entries, I’m a fifty-two year old, overweight guy who’s trying his best to lose weight. In the past, it was easy. I’d cut down on the soda and I’d stop with the sweets and BOOM! I’d lose 10 or 15 pounds. If I wanted to lose more – I’d quit the beer for a bit and even go for walks and it would just fall off me. Such is not the case any longer and I’m finding it more and more difficult to lose this weight. Now I’m having to watch what I eat and believe it or not, I thought I was watching what I was eating by puttingheart-disease-risk-factors fruit in my lunch. However, I was bringing ham and turkey sandwiches on rye or Italian bread with sweet pickles and large tomatoes and mayonnaise and spicy brown mustard. My sandwich alone was over 600 calories! On top of that I was snacking on yogurt, grapes, mangos and apples – all high sugar fruits. But I felt good about it because I also had a bottle of water and would go walking for lunch. In my mind, I was doing all the right things and comparatively I was doing better, but I still could have been doing more to help myself.  I started recognizing that I needed to cut more sugars out of my diet and get more green, leafy vegetables. I needed to up my game when it came to exercise and I had to adjust my diet to my age. I’m not 20 and my metabolism doesn’t burn the way it used to. Being 52-years-old, it takes a lot more for me to burn off calories and I need more help.

After some more reading, I found the perfect lunch and yesterday I brought that lunch to work and today I copied that lunch and I have to say that it was quite satisfying. It was tasty, filling and it didn’t make me feel like I was some fatty on a diet. I had fish, brown rice and steamed broccoli. Yesterday I had fish, brown rice and steamed green beans. 4785Now – you can fix your fish any number of ways and to your liking but for me, I boiled my fish. After my rice was finished, I laid it out in a bowl and then placed my boiled fish over the top  and when lunch time was ready, I nuked it together for about two minutes. With a hint of soy sauce for flavor, I had a fantastic lunch! after my fish and rice and broccoli, I had a pear. Pears have a lot less sugar in them than apples have. I had a bottle of water and then took my afternoon walk and usually, I feel tired after lunch. That old ham, turkey and cheese would sit heavy in my stomach and if I wasn’t falling asleep at my desk, I was wanting to go move my bowels. Today, I’m sitting at attention and ready to for the rest of my day! I feel fantastic!

In the past, I would get on a “diet kick” and eat chick and rice, but I would eat the white rice. I’m telling you right now – if you want to do right by yourself you need to eat the brown rice! white-rice-brown-riceAccording to “worldsheathiesfoods.org, “The difference between brown rice and white rice is not just color! A whole grain of rice has several layers. Only the outermost layer, the hull, is removed to produce what we call brown rice. This process is the least damaging to the nutritional value of the rice and avoids the unnecessary loss of nutrients that occurs with further processing. If brown rice is further milled to remove the bran and most of the germ layer, the result is a whiter rice, but also a rice that has lost many more nutrients. At this point, however, the rice is still unpolished, and it takes polishing to produce the white rice we are used to seeing. Polishing removes the aleurone layer of the grain–a layer filled with health-supportive, essential fats. Because these fats, once exposed to air by the refining process, are highly susceptible to oxidation, this layer is removed to extend the shelf life of the product. The resulting white rice is simply a refined starch that is largely bereft of its original nutrients.” Basically, with white rice you are getting calories but you’re getting empty calories. There is no benefit to eating white rice other than simply eating.

Fish produces Omega-3 and our bodies cannot naturally produce Omega-3. Are you aware of that? I discovered that as I researched the benefits of a fish diet. According to everydayhealth.com Although the link between omega-3s and heart health has long been known, several new studies present even more evidence that fish high in fatty acids is essential for total-body wellness.” Now that I’m 52-years-old I really need to keep my heart health in check and I honestly do believe keeping fish in my diet will help.

So here I am, changing my diet; considering my heat health and already I’m starting to feel better. It’s only been a couple of weeks and I can’t wait for this Wednesday, February 22nd, when I get to step up on that scale and let everyone know how well I’m doing. I’m quite eager to see the progress myself.

Click here for fish and brown rice recipes!

Author: L.J. Mainville Jr.

Novelist. Two books in print and on the shelves - one more in the works.

Leave a Reply

